First Grant Award Ceremony

On Thursday 31st January 2008 fifty female students from the Faculty of Science at Addis Ababa University received the first tranche (E$150) of a first year grant of first year grant of E$500. The ceremony was held in the New Science Building in the Arat Kilo campus in Addis Ababa.

18 students are in the applied science stream and the balance of 32 in the education stream. The students are studying biology (33), chemistry (8), physics (1), mathematics (7) and earth sciences (1).

Associate Dean of Students in the Faculty of Science Yibeltal Yitayew commented "The Faculty of Science is very happy to have attracted an additional source of funding to help female students to reach their full potential".

Click on images to see a full size version.


Tea and Biscuits before the ceremony

Mrs Berhane Stott presents the award to one of the students

Mrs Berhane Stott presents the award to one of the students

Ron Stott EFSAF Chairman speaking to the awardees, watched by (L to R) Mrs Berhane Stott (EFSAF Trustee), Mulugeta Naizghi (EFSAF Trustee), Dr Yalemtsehay Mekonnen (Head of Women's Affairs faculty of Science), Yebeltal Yitayew (Associate Student Dean Faculty of Science).

Awardees at the ceremony

CONTACT:- Mulugeta Naizghi 00251(0) 911 224395